100+1

It wasn’t until the “100+1” project that I realized the challenges of using a single object in a sculpture. For the 100+1 project, I had to use 100 of the same object and 1 method of connection. I explored the subtle beauty of napkins by folding, cutting, and sewing them together. The end result is a fluffy, dynamic, boa-like structure.

100 plus 1

There was a brief showing of the 100+1 projects on the Grand Staircase in the DAAP building. Here’s an installation picture!

100 plus 1 install.jpg

The best part of this project is how easy it can seem, but how much of a challenge it can be. To do this at home, think of an object you can get in 100 multiples. Then, pick one method of attaching those items to each other to create a sculpture. But here’s the catch: you can’t use staples, glue, tape, and, just because I used it, sewing. If anyone makes one of their own, please share with me! I’d love to see and talk about it!

One thought on “100+1

Leave a comment